• Description

The Organization of American States was established in order to achieve among its member states – as stipulated in Article 1 of the Charter – "an order of peace and justice, to promote their solidarity, to strengthen their collaboration, and to defend their sovereignty, their territorial integrity, and their independence."

Today, the OAS brings together all 35 independent states of the Americas and constitutes the main political, juridical, and social governmental forum in the Hemisphere. In addition, it has granted permanent observer status to 69 states, as well as to the European Union (EU).

  • Activities in respect of Child Support

The Secretariat for Legal Affairs (SLA) develops, promotes, and implements the Inter-American Program for the Development of International Law. Thus, it provides advisory services concerning international law and the development and codification of inter-American law serving as a depository and source of information for inter-American treaties and the agreements of the OAS and its organs. Furthermore the SLA disseminates information on the legal instruments of the OAS and its legal programs.

  • Useful Links

General Information

Department of Legal Service Mandate and Function regarding Children

The Inter-American Commission on Human Rights

OAS Functions